The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has received flak for their administration. So, when elections were declared for the president of BCCI, there was drama. Afterall, there is no election without a strong fight from those standing for the position. However, unanimously Sourav Ganguly made the cut and is the next president of BCCI.

The former cricket captain had a tough opponent, who had a fierce lobbyist. Brijesh Patel was lobbied by N Srinivasan from Tamil Nadu. Ganguly and Patel visited Amit Shah, Minister of Home Affairs to express their desire to be the President. 

The BCCI election was to be held at the Annual General Meeting on October 23rd. Interestingly, on Sunday, the BCCI gathered at a luxurious hotel in Mumbai to appoint Sourav Ganguly as the next President of BCCI. This was in defiance of the Supreme Court-appointed Committee of Administrators’ (COA) functioning.

A source told Times of India newspaper, “Finally, the decision was taken to bring Sourav on board. He will have just 10 months as president, but he has a lot of experience as an administrator, considering he’s efficiently headed the Cricket Association of Bengal. Moreover, under the COA, cricket has suffered badly, so someone like Ganguly will be instrumental in putting things back together”.

Another source reiterates Ganguly’s new position. The source informed Press Trust of India, “Yes, Brijesh was running for the President’s post with N Srinivasan actively lobbying for him. However, there was stiff resistance against him. We are happy Sourav is the new President”.

The outcome of the meeting is as follows:

  • President: Sourav Ganguly – He is the president of Cricket Association of Bengal, (CAB).
  • Chairman of IPL Governing Council: Brijesh Patel – He is from Karnataka
  • Secretary: Jay Shah – He hails from Gujarat and is the son of Union minister Amit Shah.
  • Joint Secretary: Devajit Saikia – From the Assam Cricket Association and he is in contention for the position.
  • Treasurer: Arun Singh Thakur – Comes from Himachal Pradesh
  • Male Representative of the Cricketers’ Association: Anshuman Gaekwad – He is a former opener.
  • Female Representative of the Cricketers’ Association: Shantha Rangaswamy – She is a former captain of the Indian team.
  • Representative of the BCCI at ICC: This position is still undecided.

My11Circle could not be happier for Dada. He has proven to be an ace at everything he sets his mind on. We hope this chapter in cricket will see a new wave of change and enrich the various aspects of Indian cricket.

Do you love playing fantasy cricket? Download My11Circle Fantasy Cricket App to pick your team now!

Also, get to know the tips & tricks on how to play fantasy cricket


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here