Expected Playing XI

Faf Du Plessis ©, Virat Kohli, Cameron Green, Glenn Maxwell, Rajat Patidar, Mahipal Lomror, Dinesh Karthik, Karn Sharma, Lockie Ferguson, Akash Deep, Mohd Siraj

Key players to watch out for

Virat Kohli – The star batter is coming off a break and would look to resume from where he left last season, where he accumulated 639 runs at an average of more than 50. With some people doubting whether he would make it to India’s World Cup team right after the tournament, expect Kohli to come doubly hungry in TATA IPL 2024.

Faf Du Plessis – With his calmness and unbelievable run scoring abilities at the top of the order, Captain Du Plessis will remain the most important player for the Bangalore side. It would be interesting to see if he can replicate his last season’s form where he scored 730 runs at an average of 56.

Mohd. Siraj – The bowler has established himself as an all-format cricketer for India and will come into this season as the senior bowler in the side. His ability to run through batting orders means Captain Faf du Plessis and Bangalore fans will have high expectations from him.

Bangalore’s Schedule for TATA IPL 2024

22nd Mar
8:00 pm
25th Mar
7:30 pm
29th Apr
7:30 pm
2nd Apr
7:30 pm
6th Apr
7:30 pm

Squad Analysis of Bangalore

Due to an injury to Rajat Patidar and Dinesh Karthik experiencing indifferent form, Bangalore struggled last year and finished 6th, despite Kohli and Du Plessis’ sparkling form. At the auction table, the management brought together the trio of bowlers – Ferguson, Joseph and Dayal – who had proved successful in Gujarat winning the title in 2022. However, with Maxwell, Green and Faf in the squad, it only leaves place for only one of the two overseas pacers.

Strengths – Like it has been the case with Bangalore for several seasons, this year again sees a very strong batting lineup assembled by the franchise. Virat Kohli had a record-breaking World Cup and looked comfortable with Faf du Plessis at the top of the order last year. Glenn Maxwell was also one of the stars of the World Cup and the tournament also showed a more matured and reliable side of the all-rounder, which will excite Bangalore fans.

Weaknesses The bowling doesn’t inspire similar confidence though as Mohd. Siraj and Lockie Ferguson will have to shoulder much of the responsibility as the spin department looks slightly weak with the loss of Shahbaz Ahmed and Wanindu Hasaranga. The management would hope that they can try to fit in Will Jacks as it would be a pity if the explosive English batter sits on the sidelines throughout TATA IPL 2024.

Eyes will be on Rajat Patidar as well, who burst into limelight in 2022 playoffs before sustaining an injury last year. Due to a spate of injuries, Patidar also got his Test debut against England earlier this year but didn’t impress at all in his three outings. It will be interesting to see how Patidar bounces back.

Bangalore Team in TATA IPL 2024

The city of Bangalore finally got its first title in 2024 when the franchise’s women’s team lifted the trophy just a week before the men’s tournament’s commencement. But that changes little about the franchise’s men’s team’s chances in TATA IPL 2024. Faf du Plessis’ men would once again start the tournament chasing their first title and just like the previous seasons, all eyes will be on Virat Kohli, who will be making a comeback to the cricket pitch after a brief break.

The team started their last season with a new think tank as Andy Flower took over as the Head Coach before the 2023 season but that didn’t change the team’s fortunes as they finished 6th on the points table. Few months later in 2023, Mo Bobat was brought in as the Director of Cricket as well. The team made a big trade ahead of auctions as they brought in Australian all-rounder Cameron Green for a massive amount while Wanindu Hasaranga was let go. The batting looks solid with Virat Kohli and Faf Du Plessis at the top of the order, both of whom had a brilliant season last year and with the likes of Maxwell, Green and Karthik to follow, the team shouldn’t be worried about their middle order too. The prospect of seeing Maxwell as well as Green together will excite Bangalore fans.

Bangalore failed to qualify for the playoffs in the last edition and it seemed that the franchise took a step backwards instead of going forward in the Andy Flower era. However, most of the top names showed good form, if not good enough to take the team to the title.

Bangalore’s stats in Indian T20 League

    • Bangalore have finished as the finalists in the tournament in 2009, 2011 and 2016.
    • Virat Kohli is the only player who has played 16 seasons for only one team in the Indian T20 League.
    • Not only does Virat Kohli sit on the top of the all-time run charts in the Indian T20 League, he also holds the record of most runs scored by a player in a single season. He achieved this feat in 2016 when he scored 973 runs in the tournament.
    • Bangalore also holds the record for the highest ever team score in the tournament. They scored 263/5 in the 2013 edition of the tournament.
    • The team also holds the dubious record of the lowest score in the tournament’s history when they were all out for 49.
    • Virat Kohli along with AB De Villiers made a partnership of 229 playing against Gujarat in 2016, the highest in the league’s history. In 2015, they had made another 200+ partnership against Mumbai.
    • Kohli-du Plessis and Kohli-de Villiers are the only pairs to aggregate 900-plus runs in an Indian T20 League season. Kohli and du Plessis did it in 2023 while Kohli and De Villiers did it in 2016.

Frequently Asked Questions

Who is Bangalore’s captain for the TATA IPL 2024 season?

South Africa’s Faf Du Plessis, who was bought at the 2022 auction by Bangalore, will be seen leading the side in the season for the third time.

When was the last time Bangalore made it to the final of the tournament?

Bangalore made it to the final of the 2016 edition where they lost to Hyderabad.

How did Bangalore perform in the last edition of the tournament?

Bangalore finished sixth on the points table by winning seven matches and losing seven matches. They failed to qualify for the playoffs for the first time in 4 seasons.

Tata IPL 2024 Match Fantasy
Tips & Predictions

Our Indian T20 League predictions will help you make team combinations, employ captains, pick a bowling arsenal, among other factors.

Get ₹1500* Bonus *T&C