New Zealand vs India, 3rd T20I: Match prediction

Deadline: January 29, 2020 at 12:30 PM IST

Venue: Seddon Park, Hamilton

Pitch report

Nearly a year ago, India fell tantalisingly short by 4 runs in the pursuit of 213 at Seddon Park. Colin Munro was awarded Player of the Match for his match-winning innings of 72 off 40 including five fours and as many sixes. 

The average first and second innings scores read 172 and 160 respectively. Expect runs to come thick and fast yet again.

my11circle register

Fantasy team

We have opted for a fantasy team on the basis of players’ impact, recent performances, and credit points.

You can also check players’ performances in the last 5 matches. Tap on the players’ images to get the data while making your fantasy team.

Wicketkeeper: KL Rahul (c)

Batsmen: Shreyas Iyer, Virat Kohli (vc), Rohit Sharma, Ross Taylor, Martin Guptill, Kane Williamson

All-rounders: Shivam Dube, Colin Munro, Ravindra Jadeja

Bowlers: Tim Southee/Jasprit Bumrah

NOTE: Pick your fantasy cricket team wisely.

Power players

KL Rahul has scored three consecutive half-centuries in the format. His last 9 international scores read: 102, 77, 45, 54, 47, 80, 19, 56, 57*. Now that he keeps wickets as well, you are likely to get bonus points for catches and stumpings.

Colin Munro has scored 2 half-centuries in 4 games at the venue with a strike rate of 197. By far he has been New Zealand’s best batsman in the series.

Shreyas Iyer has not only resolved India’s No. 4 conundrum but has also been the teams’ new finisher. In both chases, Iyer changed the equation of the game. He has scored 102 runs with a strike rate of 164 including 6 sixes – the most by any player in the series.

Value picks

On a relatively small ground and on a pitch that saw bowlers being smashed to pulp, Ravindra Jadeja rose victorious with figures of 2 for 18. He cramped the batsmen for room, eventually forcing them to play false strokes. His catching in the deep and ability to score handy runs makes him a top player in fantasy cricket.

Shivam Dube has dismissed New Zealand openers Martin Guptill and Colin Munro once in the series with his off-cutters. In addition, India have been sending him at No. 5, ahead of Manish Pandey.

Although Ish Sodhi has conceded runs at 8.6, he has managed to pick up wickets at regular intervals. In the process of attacking him, India threw away wickets.

my11circle register

Match prediction

New Zealand have won 7 of 9 T20Is at the venue, but given the way India have been playing, the home team will have to punch well above their weight to get back to winning ways.

Probable XIs

New Zealand: Martin  Guptill, Colin Munro, Kane Williamson (c), Colin de Grandhomme, Ross Taylor, Tim Seifert (wk), Mitchell Santner, Blair Tickner, Tim Southee, Ish Sodhi, Hamish Bennett/Scott Kuggeleijn

India: Rohit Sharma, KL Rahul (wk), Virat Kohli (c), Shreyas Iyer, Shivam Dube, Manish Pandey, Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Mohammad Shami, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah

Also, get to know the tips & tricks on how to play fantasy cricket.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here