Bangalore vs Kolkata

Bangalore and Kolkata are among the most thrilling teams participating in Indian T20 League tournament. Both have been part of the league from the very beginning. The Bangalore team has appeared in the finals thrice, losing each time. The Kolkata team has triumphed twice. At present, it holds the record for the highest number of consecutive wins in the T20 tournament.

For the 2022 version of the tournament Bangalore team is led by Faf du Plessis. The Kolkata team’s 2022 captain is the attacking Shreyas Iyer. How do the two teams compare? Which one has the edge? Let’s explore the numbers.



Total Played


Won by Bangalore


Won by Kolkata


Tie or No Result

Bangalore vs Kolkata Match Schedule

Wed 30th Mar – 7:30 pm

Bangalore vs Kolkata

DY Patil Stadium

Bangalore VS Kolkata: Head to Head Record

The Bangalore and Kolkata teams have faced each other 29 times so far. Bangalore has won 13 matches, and Kolkata, 16. There have been some dramatic finishes. In a 2021 match, Kolkata won emphatically against Bangalore with nine wickets. And in a game in 2016, the Bangalore team also defeated its rivals by nine wickets.

Know More About Bangalore and Kolkata Teams in Indian T20 Cricket League

Maybe 2022 will be lucky for Bangalore. So far, they haven’t won the Indian T20 League even once. However, they have been runners-up three times. That’s why some call them “the underachievers”. They have been responsible for notable records. It’s impressive that they have the highest league team total ever, at 263/5, as well as the most centuries for any team. They also hold the record of most sixes hit by a team. The Kolkata team has the record for the highest runs ever by a batsman, accomplished by Brendon McCullum. He scored 158. However, they also have the record of scoring the least runs when they were bowled out for 67.

Top Performers in Batting – Bangalore VS Kolkata Matches

For the Kolkata team, the top scorer so far has been Gautam Gambhir. In 108 matches, he has scored 3035 runs. His highest score was 93 in a 2012 match. The next is Robin Uthappa. In 86 matches, he has scored 2439 runs. His highest score was 87 in a 2017 match. The third highest is Yusuf Pathan. In 106 matches, he has scored 1893 runs for Kolkata. His highest was a century in a 2010 match. Now let’s turn to the Bangalore team. Virat Kohli has been their highest scorer, with 5412 runs in 177 matches. His highest score was 113 in a 2016 match. Kohli is followed by AB de Villiers. In 126 matches, he has scored 3724 runs. His highest score was 133, not out in 2015. In third place is Chris Gayle. He has scored 3163 runs in 85 matches. His highest score was a staggering 175 in 2013.

Top Performers in Bowling – Bangalore VS Kolkata Matches

For the Bangalore team, the best performing bowler has been Yuzvendra Chahal. In 83 matches, he has taken 100 wickets. Next is Vinay Kumar, who has taken 72 wickets in 64 matches. In the third position is Zaheer Khan. Zaheer has taken 49 wickets in 44 matches. For the Kolkata team, Sunil Narine leads the list. In 110 matches, he has taken 122 wickets. Narine is followed by Piyush Chawla. In 70 matches, he has taken 66 wickets. And third is Andre Russell. In 57 matches, he has taken 48 wickets.

Team Bangalore: Predicted XI

While we await the name of the Bangalore captain, the players that the team has retained are Virat Kohli, Glenn Maxwell, and Mohammad Siraj. Apart from these three, the 2022 squad members are Faf du Plessis, Harshal Patel, WaninduHasaranga, Dinesh Karthik, Josh Hazlewood, Shahbaz Ahmed, Anuj Rawat, Akash Deep, Mahipal Lomror, Finn Allen, Sherfane Rutherford, Jason Behrendorff, Suyash Prabhudessai, Chama Milind, Aneeshwar Gautam, Luvnith Sisodia, and David Willey.

Team Kolkata: Predicted XI

The Kolkata team has retained Sunil Narine, Andre Russell, Venkatesh Iyer, and Varun Chakravarthy for 2022. The others in the squad are Shreyas Iyer, Pat Cummins, Nitish Rana, Shivam Mavi, Sheldon Jackson, Ajinkya Rahane, Rinku Singh, Anukul Roy, Rasikh Dar, Chamika Karunaratne, Baba Indrajith, Ashok Sharma, Pratham Singh, Abhijeet Tomar, Sam Billings, Alex Hales, Ramesh Kumar, Mohammed Nabi, Aman Khan, and Umesh Yadav.

Tips For Picking Your Fantasy Team

  • Research not only the players and their performances but also external conditions. That means the pitch, the weather, and the ground conditions, among others.
  • Start small and build your way up. Play in matches with small entry fees. Once you accumulate a corpus, use this to get into the higher leagues.
  • Don’t just follow the herd. Think smart. Play domestic leagues from other countries to learn more about other players
  • Choose teams and players well in advance so you can plan for contingencies.

Play Bangalore vs Kolkata Fantasy Cricket and Win Real Money

Now that you know the strengths and records of the Bangalore and Kolkata T20 teams, it’s time for you to choose your fantasy players.

Indian T20 League Match Fantasy
Tips & Predictions

Our Indian T20 League predictions will help you make team combinations, employ captains, pick a bowling arsenal, among other factors.

Get ₹1500* Bonus *T&C